User Groups

What are User Groups?

Every user in Javek belongs to a user group. The user group determines what a user can do. For instance, if you belong to the Administrator group you can do things like create new user accounts, new events and new event types. If you belong to the Guest user group you can view events that you belong to, but you can't create new events and the entire Administration tab in the top navigation bar won't even be visible to you. You can create any number of custom groups with customized permissions. Every Javek subscription also comes with four standard groups that can't be edited: Owner, Administrator, Default User and Guest. Guest users are free, while every other type of user is charged for according to the rate outlined here.

The Standard User Groups

  • Owner: The person who signs up for the Javek subscription becomes the Owner; no other users can be added to this group. The Owner has access to all functionality in a Javek subscription including the Billing section, which shows information about your current usage, lists your billing history and allows you to pay your current bill.
  • Administrator: Users in this group can do everything except access the Billing section.
  • Default User: This group exists as a fallback - if you delete a custom user group that still has users, all of the users in that group will be moved to the Default User group.
  • Guest: A Guest user can upload assets and write comments in events and buckets that he has been assigned to. Guest users cannot do anything else, such as creating events or users or editing event details and user assignments.

Creating Custom User Groups

Custom user groups are used to give a group of users customized access rights. You could use them to give a group of clients the ability to create one event type but block them from creating another, or to give an administrative assistant the ability to manage your subscription's resources but block the ability to create user accounts.

[Click to enlarge]The User Group Admin Page: To edit or create a custom user group click on the Administration tab in the top navigation bar and click User Groups in the side menu on the right. You will see a list of the user groups in your subscription as shown in the screenshot to the right. To edit a custom group click the group name in the list; to create a new group click the "Add a User Group" button at the bottom of the page.

The User Group Popup Form: When you click the "Add a User Group" button or a custom group in the group list you will get a popup form for editing/creating user groups. The left column of the popup has a field for the name of the group, and also shows a list of event types that allows you to select which types of events this group can create, if any.

The right column has a list of Yes or No questions that allow you to set various permissions for users in this group:

  • Will this group be able to upload and delete assets from events and buckets?
  • Will this group be able to upload and delete resources from your account?
  • Will this group be able to add your resources to events and buckets?
  • Will this group be able to delete events and change global event settings?
  • Will this group be able to create, edit and delete their own buckets?
  • Will this group be able to create, edit and delete event types?
  • Will this group be able to create, edit and delete users?
  • Will this group be able to create, delete and edit user groups?

You can make changes to group permissions at any time. Click "Save" when you are done or click the "Close [X]" link in the top right of the popup to cancel.




Insured by TechInsurance, the Business Insurance Experts for IT Professionals